How INEC Declare Tinubu as 16th President of Nigeria

By Suleman T. Ahmad

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Presidential candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Ahmed Tinubu as the winner of the 2023 Presidential election thereby becoming the next and 26th President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The Chairman of INEC and the Returning Officer of the election, Professor Mahmoud Yakubu announced the result on Wednesday.

Prof Yakubu said Tinibu polled 8,794,726 votes, Atiku Abubakar of People’s Democratic Party (PDP) secured 6,984,520 votes, while Peter Obi of the labour Party (LP) came third with 6,101,533 votes.

“That Tinubu Bola Ahmed of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared winner and is returned elected,” the INEC boss declared.

The INEC Chairman while thanking the Nigerians for exercising their franchise and all stakeholders during the process, announced that the President-Elect and Vice President-Elect will be issued with their Certificates of returns accordingly by 3:00pm on Wednesday.

see full list of presidents of the federal republic of Nigeria from independence to date

  1. Sir Abubakar Tafawa Ɓalewa
  2. General Ironsi
  3. Gen. Yakubu Gowon
  4. Gen. Murtala Mohammed
  5. Gen. Olusegun Obasanjo
  6. Alhaji Shehu Usman Aliyu Shagari
  7. Gen. Muhammadu Buhari
  8. Gen. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida
  9. Chief Earnest Shonekan
  10. Gen. Sani Abacha
  11. Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar
  12. Chief Olusegun Obasanjo
  13. Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’ardua
  14. Dr. Goodluck Jonathan
  15. Muhammadu Buhari
  16. Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu
Back to top button