INEC presents Certificates of Return to Zamfara Gov-elect Dauda, Lawmakers

By Jibril Almustapha

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has today (Friday) issued Certificates of Return to the Zamfara state Governor-elect, Dauda Lawal, his Deputy, Malam Mani Mummuni, alongside 24 members-elect of the State House of Assembly at INEC headquarters in Gusau,  the state capital.

The certificates were presented to the governor-elect and his deputy by the INEC National Commissioner in charge of Sokoto, Kebbi and Zamfara States, Professor Sani Kalla. While the 24 lawmakers-elect received their certificates from the Zamfara state INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner, Professor Saidu Ahmad Babura.

MEDIA SMARTS NIGERIA gathered that the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) took the lead of the state house of assembly with 17 members-elect against the All progressives Congress (APC) who secured 7 members-elect.

In his speech shortly after receiving the certificate of return, the Governor-elect, Dauda Lawal, expressed his utmost appreciation to the people of the state for vesting their trust in him to take the Chief Executive position in the state.

Lawal, also re-assured that the efforts of the electorates would not be in vain as his administration would change the narrative against the banditry that ravaged the state.

He also implored the people of Zamfara to  utilize the opportunity of the Ramadan fasting period to pray for Divine intervention so that the Almighty Allah will restore peace and stability to the state.

It could be recalled that, MEDIA SMARTS NIGERIA reported that on March 21, 2023, INEC declared Dauda Lawal of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the March 18, governorship election with 377,726 votes against  311, 976 votes scored by the APC’s Governor Bello Matawalle who sought for a 2nd term.

MEDIA SMARTS NIGERIA also observed that the event was graced by INEC’s national officials, PDP and APC stakeholders in the state and a mammoth crowd of PDP supporters and well-wishers from different parts of the state.

Back to top button