Supplementary: Ado Doguwa wins Reps seat  for 5th term

By Jibril Almustapha

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has on Saturday declared Alhasan Ado Doguwa as the ‘Winner’ of the just concluded Tudun Wada/Doguwa Federal Constituency supplementary election in Kano state.

Professor Sani Ibrahim, the INEC’s Returning Officer, said Alhasan Doguwa scored 41,573; while him closest opponent, Yusha’u Salisu of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) scored 34,831 votes. The Returning Officer therefore declared that having scored the highest votes cast, Alhassan Ado Doguwa  of the All Progressives Congress (APC) is the Winner and returned elected.

Reports had it that, earlier, Ado Doguwa was declared winner for Doguwa/Tudun Wada Federal Constituency on February 26 by the Returning Officer of the constituency, Professor Ibrahim Adamu Yakasai. The outcome which was reviewed by the INEC was declared as inconclusive due to a number of irregularities during the  February 25 National Elections.

Furthermore, it was revealed that Professor Yakasai wrote INEC to review the premature results he declared wherein he proclaimed that he made the declaration under duress.

Media Smarts Nigeria gathered that Ado Doguwa is the incumbent (9th Assembly) Leader of the House of Representatives will return to the green chamber for the fifth time as he has been there since 2007.

Back to top button