Ahmed Lawan re-elected for 5th term as Senator in Yobe

By Suleman T Ahmad

Ahmed Lawan, President of the Senate has emerged winner of the just concluded election in Yobe North Senatorial district.

The Returning Officer of the zone, Professor Omolola Aduoju of the Federal University Gashua, Yobe State, announced the result at Umar Suleiman College of Education Gashua.

Prof Adunoju said Lawan polled 91,318 votes to defeat his rival of the PDP, Ilu Alhaji-Bello, who got 22,849 votes out of the 122,136 total valid votes cast.

The Senate President who will return to the National Assembly after spending about 22 years in both the Green and the Red chambers represents Yobe North.

He was first elected as Member House of Representatives representing Bakde/Jakusko in 1999 before he was later elected as Senator in 2007.

Yobe North Senatorial district comprises Bade, Jakusko, Karasuwa, Nguru, Yusufari, and Machina local government areas.

Back to top button